Whitworth Communications

For Immediate Release

June 28, 2004

Whitworth Players Again Crowned Champions of Spokane's Hoopfest

Teams including recent Whitworth College alumni won championships in both the over-six-foot elite division and the six-foot-and-under elite division Sunday in Spokane Hoopfest 2004, the largest 3-on-3 basketball tournament in the world with 24,000 players on more than 6,000 teams.

HappyWifeHappyLife, a team comprised of former Whitworth players Scott Bierlink, Bryan Depew and Chase Williams, along with Spokane native John Mietus, who played at Lewis and Clark College in Portland, easily topped Battle in Seattle, 20-11, in the over-six-foot championship game.

Depew, a 6-5 forward who graduated in May, finished his All-American career as Whitworth's all-time leading scorer, a four-time All-Northwest Conference selection and 2003 NWC Player of the Year. Bierlink, a 6-2 guard who also graduated in May, and Williams, a 6-3 guard who graduated in 2003, assisted Depew on many of his record-setting scores.

HappyWifeHappyLife (Depew says he borrowed the name from a slogan he learned from Whitworth Assistant Men's Basketball Coach Rodney Wecker) followed the lead of another championship team comprised of former Whitworth players. Phat Steppin,' led by Whitworth alumni Jeff Arkills, Nate Dunham, Nate Williams, were three-time champions in the over-six-foot elite division, most recently in 2002.

Eric Avery, another 2003 Whitworth alum, and his teammates on Hoop Hearted, won for the second year in a row in the six-foot-and-under division, dispatching Sprinklin' 20-14.

In another championship game, a couple of age brackets removed from the elite division, a team paced by two Whitworth alumni from the 1960s -- Tedd and Terry Nealey -- bested a team comprised of Whitworth President Bill Robinson, History Professor Dale Soden, Director of Instructional Resources Ken Pecka and Head Football Coach John Tully.

For more information about Spokane Hoopfest 2004, please visit The Spokesman-Review (www.spokesmanreview.com) or the Spokane Hoopfest (www.spokanehoopfest.com) sites.


Greg Orwig, director of communications, (509) 777-4580 or gorwig@whitworth.edu.

Related Links

Whitworth Press Release Index