Close Menu

State Portability Disclosure: Marriage & Family Therapy (MFT Associate License)

Last updated February 2023

Whitworth University's Marriage and Family Therapy (MFT) program, which is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education (COAMFTE), meets the educational requirements in all 50 states for a Marriage and Family Therapy Associate License. Please note that some states have additional requirements beyond the educational component, such as a passing score on a national or state exam, for licensure. For questions regarding Whitworth's MFT program and state licensure, please contact Douglas Jones, Ph.D., LMFT, LMHC (

StateWhitworth Meets Educational RequirementsAdditional State Requirements
Alabama Yes  
Alaska Yes  
Arizona Yes National Exam
Arkansas Yes  
California Yes State Law and Ethics Exam
Colorado Yes  
Connecticut Yes  
Deleware Yes National Exam
Florida Yes  
Georgia Yes  
Hawaii Yes  
Idaho Yes  
Illinois Yes  
Indiana Yes  
Iowa Yes  
Kansas Yes  
Kentucky Yes  
Louisiana Yes  
Maine Yes National Exam
Maryland Yes National Exam
Massachusetts Yes  
Michigan Yes  
Minnesota Yes National Exam
Mississippi Yes National Exam
Missouri Yes  
Montana Yes  
Nebraska Yes  
Nevada Yes  
New Hampshire Yes  
New Jersey Yes  
New Mexico Yes  
New York Yes  
North Carolina Yes National Exam
North Dakota Yes National Exam
Ohio Yes  
Oklahoma Yes  
Oregon Yes  
Pennsylvania Yes  
Rhode Island Yes  
South Carolina Yes  
South Dakota Yes National Exam
Tennessee Yes National Exam
Texas Yes National Exam
Utah Yes  
Vermont Yes National Exam
Virginia Yes  
Washington Yes  
West Virginia Yes National Exam
Wisconsin Yes  
Wyoming Yes