Close Menu

Who We Are

Overview of Services

Brand & Identity: The marketing & communications office ensures the appropriate and consistent use of Whitworth's brand standards, including logo use, oversees adherence to Whitworth's editorial style, and provides policies and guidelines for the use of university associated blogs and social media accounts. 

Marketing & Advertising: We work to increase awareness and visibility of Whitworth to prospective students and families, alumni, and the community, across the region and nationally. We collaborate with university departments to identify marketing objectives, develop marketing strategies (including social media) and connect them with resources to achieve their goals.

Media Relations: To increase Whitworth's visibility locally, regionally and nationally, our media relations manager engages with the media to provide timely, unique and relevant news and information about Whitworth and its community. We also oversee media visits to campus, pitch stories and offer media protocol training. Have a story you'd like us to tell? Pitch it to our media relations manager.

Publications: We manage and produce online and print publications like Whitworth Today, The President's Report and the Mind & Heart newsletter. Our writers and editors seek out stories, interview alumni, students and community members, develop content, and edit and revise all external facing text. Explore Our Stories and read the most recent issue of Whitworth Today. Have a student, alumni or parent you think we should meet? Let us know why here.

Graphic Design: Our talented design team creates publications and promotional materials for departments across campus that are polished, creative and reflective of Whitworth's brand. Let us help you design your next poster, program, postcard or brochure. Learn more about how to work with us here.

Web Design & Development: The dedicated web team, in collaboration with information systems, manages and oversees whitworth.edu and Pirate Port. We help departments across campus create and manage web pages and post university announcements. Learn more about our web services here.

Photography and Video: Our photographers and videographers promote and document Whitworth's events, programs and campus life for our external audiences. Limited professional photography and video services are available for events that are of campus-wide significance. Learn how to request our services or connect with a freelance photographer/videographer here.

Printing & Mailing: This division provides on-campus printing services to departments across campus for resources like fliers, brochures, programs and more. It also operates a full-service post office for student, staff and faculty use and provides bulk mailing service to campus departments. Learn more about printing and mailing services here.

Emergency Communication: The marketing & communications office is part of the emergency response team responsible for managing emergencies and disruptions to normal campus operations. We work with campus security and information systems to inform the Whitworth community and the public of these situations. Learn how to sign up for emergency notifications here.

Staff

Nancy Hines
Associate Vice President of University Marketing & Communications
nhines@whitworth.edu
509.777.4638

Tamara Burkhead
Graphic Designer
thartman@whitworth.edu
509.777.3719

Trisha Coder
Media Relations Manager
tcoder@whitworth.edu
509.777.4703

Vicki Daffe 
Publications Services Specialist
vdaffe@whitworth.edu
509.777.4732

Anthony Davenport
Digital Media Specialist
adavenport@whitworth.edu
509.777.4706

Heidi Jantz
Graphic Designer
hjantz@whitworth.edu
509.777.3668

Megan Jonas
Content Editor & Marketing Writer
mjonas@whitworth.edu
509.777.4326

Nate Lewis
Videographer/Producer
nlewis@whitworth.edu
509.777.3379

Emily Lyonnais
Production Designer
elyonnais@whitworth.edu
509.777.3579

Garrett Riddle
Director of Marketing & Communications
griddle@whitworth.edu
509.777.4784

Julie Riddle 
Senior Writer for Marketing & Development
jriddle@whitworth.edu
509.777.3729

Elizabeth Strauch 
Director of Marketing & Brand Strategy
estrauch@whitworth.edu
509.777.4711

Kathryn Wagner
Digital Content Assistant
kathrynwagner@whitworth.edu
509.777.3312

Campus Post Office

Jacob Grubb 
Post Office Assistant
jacobgrubb@whitworth.edu

Candice Silecchia
Post Office Supervisor
csilecchia@whitworth.edu
509.777.3269

Mailing Services

Paul Baldwin
Mailing Services Supervisor
paulbaldwin@whitworth.edu
509.777.3788

Printing Services

Bob Baker 
Printing & Mailing Services Manager
rbaker@whitworth.edu
509.777.3788

Allison Brier 
Printing Services Assistant
abrier@whitworth.edu
509.777.3788

Kris Phillips 
Postal and Mailing Clerk
kphillips@whitworth.edu
509.777.3279

Tom Roll 
Printer
troll@whitworth.edu
509.777.3788